Wholeschool Portal | Home 21 March 2018



Wed 21 March – Sat 24 March
- French trip to Normandy

Mon 26 March – Fri 5 April (inc)
- Easter Holiday

Fri 13 April
Year 11 Vaccinations

Thur 3 May
- Year 11 Geography Field Trip
- AQE/P6 Parent Information Evening

Fri 4 May
- Year 11 Geography Field Trip

w/c Mon 21 May
- School Exams

Mon 18 June
- Year 13 Return to School

Fri 29 June
- Last day of term (12.00 pm finish)


Head of Department:
Dr K Gibson, BSc PGCE CSciTeach

Teaching Staff:
Mrs K Rowney, BSc PGCE
Mr C Spence, BSc PGCE

Mr W. Agnew, RSciTech, FInstP


Every year group is taught Physics by a specialist teacher.

Key Stage 3
All pupils study 2 (60 minutes) periods per 10 days of Physics.

Key Stage 4
Pupils follow the CCEA specification for Double Award Science or GCSE Physics.

AS and A2 Level
Pupils study the CCEA A Level specification.

Facilities and Resources

We have well-equipped Physics laboratories. All labs have interactive white-boards and all apparatus required to fulfil the KS3, GCSE and A level requirements. We also provide apparatus that allows our pupils to understand how Physics is applied in other ‘real-life’ and fun contexts.

Our A level pupils have the opportunity to visit CERN – the home of the large hadron collider. This school trip gives Belfast High School Pupils the opportunity to visit CERN while they are studying particle Physics.

We are pleased to welcome speakers from industry, engineering and research who share their experience of Physics and inter-disciplinary Science.

Useful links

CCEA Physics - www.ccea.org.uk/physics
A Science Odyssey - www.pbs.org/wgbh/aso/
How Stuff Works - www.howstuffworks.com/
Nasa for Kids - www.nasa.gov/audience/forkids/kidsclub/flash/index.html
Institute of Physics for Pupils - www.physics.org/w.teachpe.com/a_level.php