Wholeschool Portal | Home 21 March 2018



Wed 21 March – Sat 24 March
- French trip to Normandy

Mon 26 March – Fri 5 April (inc)
- Easter Holiday

Fri 13 April
Year 11 Vaccinations

Thur 3 May
- Year 11 Geography Field Trip
- AQE/P6 Parent Information Evening

Fri 4 May
- Year 11 Geography Field Trip

w/c Mon 21 May
- School Exams

Mon 18 June
- Year 13 Return to School

Fri 29 June
- Last day of term (12.00 pm finish)

Paul Clark Visits BHS

Current events happening throughout the world today - Donald Trump, Syria or more local issues such as the RHI scandal are sending many journalists into frenzy to get the news out to the masses. To convey this to us, UTV journalist Paul Clark visited the school to discuss career prospects in journalism and the involvement of journalists in local politics. He discussed the paths into journalism and the current happenings at Stormont. The morning was highly interactive with the pupils questioning Mr Clark about the day to day proceedings of a journalist and his opinions and thoughts on local politics. He told the pupils of how the job of a journalist is ever changing and no two days are ever the same. The pupils, some of whom are considering a career in journalism, all very much enjoyed the visit and are involved in the school’s Current Affairs and Debating societies, as well as the Journalism club for those with an interest in current affairs. We would like to thank Mr Clark for taking the time to visit Belfast High School and for giving us the chance to ask an array of questions from journalism to politics to television and everything that comes in between. Mr Clarke shared his expertise in a thought provoking and engaging manner that encouraged everyone to explore journalism and share in his enthusiasm. Megan Ferguson and Yana Ford