Wholeschool Portal | Home 21 March 2018



Wed 21 March – Sat 24 March
- French trip to Normandy

Mon 26 March – Fri 5 April (inc)
- Easter Holiday

Fri 13 April
Year 11 Vaccinations

Thur 3 May
- Year 11 Geography Field Trip
- AQE/P6 Parent Information Evening

Fri 4 May
- Year 11 Geography Field Trip

w/c Mon 21 May
- School Exams

Mon 18 June
- Year 13 Return to School

Fri 29 June
- Last day of term (12.00 pm finish)

 Government and Politics


Head of Department:



Teaching Staff:

Mr M Jess, BA PGCE 




Government and Politics is offered only at A-level.

We follow the CCEA exam board.

AS 1: Worth 40% of AS, 16% of A-Level. Written Exam 75 minutes
Government and Politics of Northern Ireland

AS 2: Worth 60% of AS, 24% of A-Level. Written Exam 105 minutes
The British Political Process

A2 1: Worth 35% of A-Level. 135min exam
Comparative Study of US and UK Government and Politics

A2 2: Worth 25% of A-Level. 90min exam
Political Power

Facilities and Resources


The department has three classrooms, each equipped with a data projector, two of which also have an interactive whiteboard. In Year 13 students will visit Stormont and City Hall and guest speakers such as MLAs will visit the school to talk to students about Politics. There have been regular trips to London to visit the Palace of Westminster and in October 2018 there is a visit to Washington D.C


Useful links